Modric Claim’s UEFA Prize, But Did He Really Deserve It?

Luca Modric with his UEFA awards

On Thursday night, Real Madrid midfielder Luca Modric picked up the UEFA best player of the year prize after a stellar season in which he won the champions league and led his country to the world cup finals where they were defeated by France. But eyebrows are being raised in some quarters, with most arguing that Portuguese forward Cristiano Ronaldo deserves the honour more. How legible are those claims?




Cristiano Ronaldo

The UEFA best player award is an award given to the player who performed well above his contemporaries in Europe and its meant to be solely based on the player’s performance in Europe, but that didn’t seem to be the case this time around.

In a season in which he scored 15 goals in just 13 games in the UCL, Juventus forward Cristiano Ronaldo should have been the one to clinch the prize after leading Los Blancos to the champions league finals. He also created a new record becoming the first player to score in 11 consecutive matches and also became the first man to win 5 champions league medals as a player. He also happens to have the highest number of goals in the champions league leading the pack with a 20-goal gap making it all the more bemusing.

Not to take away the shine off Luca Modric who also had a wonderful 2017/2018 winning the champions league with the Spanish side and captaining Croatia all the way to the World Cup finals in Russia. But its quite obvious that the latter achievement was what was on the minds of the 80 coaches and 55 sports journalists – who participated in the voting exercise – while casting their votes.

It’s certain that Modric won the vote because of Croatia’s magnificent showing at the mundial going against the odds to reach the final and showing so much grit and determination as they did so with the diminutive playmaker at the centre of it all. He actually deserves an award for those performances but that should probably be for FIFA to dwell on. The UEFA best player accolade isn’t his, it was robbed off CR7.

Does Luca Modric deserve the award?. Or does it belong to Cristiano Ronaldo….or probably Mo Salah?. Please let’s know what your thoughts by laying them out in the comment section below.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.